Monday, January 9, 2012

January New Release in Review: Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand

Cover:



Publisher:

HarperCollins

Summary:

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.


Why I Read This:

I really enjoyed the first book in the series, Unearthly.

My Thoughts:

Hallowed is a real gem.

I was surprised to find that I loved Hallowed even more than Unearthly. I'm normally more dissappointed by sequels because they often don't live up to the excitement of discovery that a first book holds for me. And part of that is often the continuation of plot without the expansion of the world around the characters. So fantasy books are even more prone to me liking them less than the first. But I enjoyed Hallowed even more than Unearthly (Don't get me wrong...Unearthly was fabulous...Hallowed is just better!). Why?

The biggest thing I can say is this story not only delivered a wider view of the world in it (we learn A LOT more about the world, about more characters, and we get a deeper understanding of the characters we have been introduced to) but also...the story was much more meaningful. In Unearthly I read the story to find out what Clara's purpose is and also to see which one of the guys Clara ends up with. But in Unearthly, I read the story to find out who dies and how Clara deals with that. It's hard to explain why it's so much better for me without spoilers (and I wont do that) but the plot made a huge difference in the way I saw everything. I also have to applaud Cynthia Hand for the way she wrote an angels perspective on death. I really got a lot out of that, personally.

I'm looking forward to seeing what happens in the rest of the series. It's even easier to see now just how talented Cynthia hand is and if I like this one better than the first (which I loved to begin with) I just can't wait to see what happens next.

My Rating:



Disclaimer:

ARC provided by publisher through NetGalley.

Related links:

Book in Review: Unearthly (Unearthly #1) by Cynthia Hand 





This post was part of my New Year's Signature Collection event.
Watch out for more guest posts,  lists, reviews of January releases, author interviews, and more throughout January.




2 comments:

  1. I am so excited to read this book! Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Gosh, I love Unearthly. Can't wait for this. Who died?

    ReplyDelete